Communication Studies Graduate Community

CommSGC Mission Statement

The purpose of the Communication Studies Graduate Community (CommSGC) is to facilitate the well-being of graduate students in the Communication Studies Department and to foster relationships among the Department’s faculty and graduate students. CommSGC representatives are elected by the graduate student community and are asked to serve a one-year term. CommSGC will meet as a group throughout the school year to address graduate student concerns, plan Department events, pass along communication from faculty and staff, and serve as a voice among the larger graduate student community at the University of Texas. Every member of CommSGC is expected to uphold the duties of his or her position as described on the CommSGC website. If an elected official fails to fulfill his or her responsibilities, CommSGC will vote on having the representative replaced by another graduate student. CommSGC is here to enhance the graduate school experience within the Communication Studies community and should make decisions aligned with the spirit of this undertaking.


CommSGC Positions and Responsibilities | 2019 – 2020 Academic Year 


Anastazja Harris | President (PhD Representative)  

The President’s role is to serve and support the graduate community and the elected representatives on this committee. The president is responsible for facilitating regular meetings, participating in events, responding to student concerns, and serving as a representative of graduate students to faculty and staff.  

Abigail Hazlett | Vice President (MA Representative) 

The Vice President's role is to support the communication studies department through sustained engagement with policies and events that affect or support its members. They also assist the President in meeting the needs of the graduate community through communication and coordination of CommSGC events.  

Dakota Park-Ozee | Treasurer 

The Treasurer oversees the acquiring of funds used by CommSGC for events and fairly distributing scholarship funds for professional development and conference travel each semester to graduate students.  

Jared Jensen | Secretary 

The Secretary is responsible for keeping the minutes of meeting. They take detailed notes, update information/notes as needed, and share them with CommSGC members.  

Carly Montagnolo | Publicity and Social Media Chair 

The Publicity and Social Media Chair is responsible for spreading the word about all CommSGC events and opportunities. They manage the CommSGC Facebook page and regularly send department-wide emails. Additionally, this chair is responsible for designing flyers used to advertise CommSGC events.  

Rudy Pett | Professional Development Chair 

The Professional Development Chair is charged with providing events and opportunities for graduate students to develop specific skills, habits, knowledge, or networking connections that will better prepare them for both academic and non-academic careers. This responsibility involves the creation, coordination, organization, and facilitation of all components required to provide such events/opportunities every semester. 

Katie Lever | Fundraising Chair 

The fundraising chair plans and executes fundraising efforts/events to raise funds to benefit students in the program. Throughout the year, they coordinate a variety of fundraising activities to raise money for graduate students' research and travel.  

Dani Soibelman | Social Events Chair 

The Social Events Chair is responsible for planning and coordinating social events to create a sense of community within the department. They plan a variety of events throughout the semester that allow graduate students, faculty, and staff to connect.  

Delaney Harness | Transition Coordinator 

The Transition coordinator is selected by the outgoing board to maintain continuity between the current and elected board. The chair’s responsibilities will include collecting agendas, notes, and reflections  from outgoing board members and providing advice to the newly elected board during their tenure. 

Colton Krawietz | Graduate Student Assembly Representative 

The Graduate Student Assembly Representative serves as the liaison between GSA and CommSGC.Duties include attending monthly GSA meetings and serving on a GSA committee (as determined by GSA).  

Vanessa Gao | Graduate Communication Council Representative 

The GCC Representative will serve as the liaison between GCC and CommSGC by attending GCC meetings (held bi-monthly), reporting GCC initiatives and graduate student issues back to the committee and reporting the minutes of these meetings to CommSGC. 

Nandini Sharma (PhD), Sam James (PhD), Tynan Holt (MA), & Ed Hunt (MA) | Members-At-Large 

The Members-At-Large will act as liaisons between new (incoming) students and CommSGC with the responsibility for providing new students’ perspectives on issues of concern to the CommSGC or as requested by the staff and faculty of the department. In addition, Members-at-Large are responsible for any staff appreciation efforts throughout their tenure.