Texas Speech: Texas Speech

Individual Events Team

Texas Speech is the official competitive intercollegiate speech organization for UT, housed in the College of Communication, and supported by the Dept. of Communication Studies with additional support from the Student Government SSBC of the University of Texas. The team is the organizing point for the historical records and forensic history established originally in 1883 as the Athaeneum Literary Society, followed later by the Rusk Literary Society, the Delta Sigma Rho – Tau Kappa Delta National Speech Honorary Society, and finally the Texas Forensic Union (along with Texas Debate).

The team is directed by Professor of Instruction and Program Coordinator Martin "Randy" Cox (Phone: 512-471-1957). 

The Endowment for Excellence 

SUPPORT UT INDIVIDUAL EVENTS by contributing to the Endowment for Excellence in Individual Events. Established in 2007 with seed money from a group of alumni including the current director, the Endowment provides continuing support for the team's travel and scholarship needs. Our goal is to create a $1,000,000 endowment that will insure the continuing legacy of UT Speech. To contribute to the endowment, please download the PDF icon CONTRIBUTION FORM, or to contribute online, go to:  


Be sure to indicate that your donations should be routed to the Individual Events Team. All donations may be made using major credit cards, and are fully tax deductible.