2012-08-28 13:48


Richard Cherwitz

Dr. Richard Cherwitz (Ph.D., University of Iowa, 1978) is a member of the Rhetoric faculty in the Department of Communication Studies and in the Department of Rhetoric and Writing. He is the Founder and Director of the Intellectual Entrepreneurship Consortium (IE)--a cutting-edge and nationally acclaimed cross-disciplinary initiative designed to leverage knowledge for social good by educating "citizen-scholars." Publications include two scholarly books and over one hundred articles, book chapters, reviews, and papers. Dr. Cherwitz' essays have appeared in such journals as Philosophy and Rhetoric, Argumentation, The Quarterly Journal of Speech. In addition, he has been a frequent contributor to newspapers and educational publications, writing about issues pertaining to academic engagement and public scholarship--all utilizing and building upon his scholarly work in rhetoric. Dr. Cherwitz received two of the National Communication Association's top awards given to scholars in rhetoric: the Karl R. Wallace Memorial Award and the Douglas Ehninger Distinguished Rhetorical Scholar Award. He was the recipient of the University of Texas AMOCO Foundation Outstanding Teacher Award, the University of Texas Chancellor's Council Outstanding Teaching Award, the College of Communication Thomas R. McCartin Teaching Excellence Award, and the College of Communication Research Award. Dr. Cherwitz also received the Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation Innovation Award, the National Speakers Association Outstanding Professor Award, the Council of Graduate Schools Outstanding Contributions to Graduate Education Award, the Texas Blazers Faculty Excellence Award, The Examples of Excelencia Award and the Ernest A. Lynton Award for Faculty Professional Service & Academic Outreach. Dr. Cherwitz has directed over thirty master's theses and doctoral dissertations; his students have taken faculty positions at such institutions as The Ohio State University, Pittsburgh, Tulane, George Washington University, LSU, Macalester and others.